The Minor Prophets of the Bible and Their Prophecies


In the Old Testament of the Bible, the authors of Bible prophecy are divided into the so-called Major and Minor Prophets. These terms do not define the significance or importance of their prophecies, but rather refer to the length of their writings.

The prophecies of all prophets Major and Minor are equally important.

In this article, we’ll explain who the Minor Prophets of the Bible are and their works.

What is a prophet?

A prophet is someone who receives declarations directly from God and transmits this message to humankind.

Our English word prophet comes from the Greek word prophetes, which means to “speak for another, especially one who speaks for God.”

The Bible doesn’t specify how the word of God comes to a prophet on all occasions. However, there are examples such as visions, audible voices, internal voices, or dreams.

The 4 Major Prophets

There are four Major Prophets attributed to writing five lengthy books of the Bible prophecy in the Old Testament.

The prophets are: Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and Daniel.

Another book of these prophets is the poetic book of Lamentations, which traditionally was attributed to Jeremiah, but now his authorship is a matter of debate among scholars.

In terms of length, Isaiah contains 66 chapters, Jeremiah contains 52 chapters and Ezekiel contains 48 chapters.

The 12 Minor Prophets

The Old Testament contains twelve different books from the so-called Minor Prophets. Minor refers to the brevity of each book’s length.

The book of Obadiah is only a single chapter in length, while Haggai is only two chapters long.

The twelve minor are: Amos (796 BC), Habakkuk (626 BC), Haggai (520 BC), Hosea (796-719 BC), Joel (596-586 BC), Jonah (798 BC), Malachi (400 BC), Micah (740-711 BC), Nahum (711 BC), Obadiah (590 BC), Zechariah (626 BC), and Zephaniah (520-518 BC).

Some significant prophecies of the Minor Prophets

Here is a sampling of some of the significant works of Bible prophecy made by a few of the Minor Prophets.

Nahum, writing in 711 BC, accurately prophesied the fall of Thebes, which would occur in 663 BC, as well as the fall of Nineveh, which occurred in 612 BC.

Micah: Most Christians are aware of the messiah’s (Christ’s) birth been foretold by the prophet Isaiah. But the minor prophet Micah also foretold the birth of the Messiah (Jesus).

Zechariah: The prophet Zechariah also spoke of the messiah’s (Christ’s) second coming.

Malachi spoke of being prepared for the messenger that is to come.

Amos and Joel spoke of the need for repentance. Amos also spoke of the Lord intervening to bring salvation to mankind.

Hosea spoke of the Messiah (Christ) being the son of God who will ransom mankind from the dead.

Joel spoke of the Messiah (Christ) as being the one who will judge the nations.

Obadiah spoke of judgments on Edom (Persia, Medo-Persian empire) which came to pass.